Got a hot tip?
Drop us a line!

Subscribe

Links:

Site search

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

  • Dormilona: "He’s back. But there’s no emotion. None. Just the pretense of it. The words, the gesture,..."
  • ian: "He’s dead. Or vacationing in Aruba, or dead and vacationing in Aruba. Unless, of course, he has since..."
  • John Galt: "Live and act within the limit of your knowledge, and keep expanding it to the limit of your life."
  • Exaggerato: "How do we know it wasn’t really some class of a CIA-sponsored forgery?"
  • ian: "That is the best news to come out of this. That and the fact that we have at least one less convicted..."

 

Archives

Older Articles

Whoa, Evan Bayh for Obama?

by Hanlon on August 4, 2008 at 11:18 pm

Hot on the heels of the big-ass article on McCain’s possible VP choice, it looks like we’ve got a hell of a hint about Obama’s: Indiana senator Evan Bayh.

You can peruse Bayh’s record at OnTheIssues just like with all the other candidates and I suggest that you do so. One thing you might notice is that I was right, he’s pretty centrist by a lot of their metrics. 50% by NARAL, 60% by the ACLU, 43% by the US COC, 33% by the Christian Coalition, etc. I’m pretty jazzed about his big church-state separation push, though. While a touch moderate, he’s good where it counts.

The kicker, and the reason I’m writing this, is that http://obamabayh08.com directs to… the DNC’s homepage. If that doesn’t seal the deal in most peoples’ eyes, I’m not sure what will.

Let the speculation begin!!

UPDATE: Will just said this, and it’s so bad but yet so funny that I have to relay it: If you’re going to sell a candidate, what better way than E. Bayh? Well played, Will. Well played.

UPDATE 2: Commenter Pete points out that there’s nothing to say that the DNC owns the domain, it merely redirects to it. However, I’m more than a little suspicious of that as a WHOIS returns nothing substantial other than it was registered in May of 2007. It does, however, say that it was updated in February of 2008. There’s nothing for it in the Internet Archive to say what was before that, but perhaps that’s when it started to redirect?

UPDATE 3: Other sites are picking up on the fact that Bayh is on a very, very short list of potential Obama VP’s, so we’ll see how this plays out.

Comments

Comment from Pete
Time August 4, 2008 at 11:29 pm

obamabayh08.com isn’t *owned* by the DNC, nor by the Obama campaign, nor by anyone officially connected to the Democrats.

It’s just owned by some random guy (since the middle of last year) who’s redirected it to point to the DNC homepage.

A minor point I know, but just thought I’d mention it. :-)

Comment from Hanlon
Time August 4, 2008 at 11:31 pm

Hm, you appear to be bringing up a facet of The Internets I’m unaware of.

So Random Dude picked up this website, had it redirected to the DNC’s homepage, and they’ve had no part in the thing? That strikes me as… fishy. You’d think the DNC would be aware of this by now and would have done something about it if they wanted to shut up false rumors.

Comment from cpurick
Time August 5, 2008 at 7:59 am

He could just be a squatter. If the campaign announces for Bayh, he might try to sell it to them.

Comment from cpurick
Time August 5, 2008 at 8:01 am

BTW, the whois at networksolutions.com returns considerably more information.

Comment from Hanlon
Time August 5, 2008 at 8:50 am

Ah, thanks for the tipoff. I’ll check that out. I’m just a little befuddled that the DNC would be both unaware of this and wouldn’t get him to stop it.

We’ll see where this one goes. Could entirely be possible that it’s a false alarm.

Write a comment